Commission on Ministry and Recruitment

The Commission on Ministry and Recruitment is to develop denominational strategy and plan for the systematic recruitment, training, placement and compensations of young people for the pastoral ministry and other church vocations (Teachers of Religion, Directors of Christian Education, Religious Journalists, Church Musicians, Church Secretaries, Chaplains, Christian Counselors and Ecumenical Executives). Through this agency, a Commission on Ministry and Recruitment may be set up in each local church in order to better present the claims of Christ upon the lives of our young people. 

The duties of this Commission shall be discharged by the Executive Director of the Department of Christian Education, under the supervision of the General Board.

[dipi_text_highlighter text_highlighter_prefix=”Itinerant Elders and Deacons, please take 3 minutes to complete this” text_highlighter_text=”Resourcing AME Clergy Survey!” text_highlighter_suffix=”Your responses are anonymous and will assist in future programming and resourcing.” highlight_shape=”double-line” text_direction=”block” highlight_animation_delay=”100ms” stroke_color=”#CC9900″ stroke_width=”12px” shape_v_offset=”7px” highlighted_text_margin=”||40px||false|false” stroke_width_tablet=”12px” stroke_width_phone=”9px” stroke_width_last_edited=”on|phone” shape_v_offset_tablet=”7px” shape_v_offset_phone=”16px” shape_v_offset_last_edited=”on|desktop” _builder_version=”4.23″ _module_preset=”default” all_text_text_align=”center” all_text_text_color=”#FFFFFF” all_text_line_height=”1.2em” prefix_text_font=”Playfair Display||||||||” prefix_text_font_size=”35px” prefix_text_line_height=”1.4em” highlighted_text_font=”Playfair Display||||||||” highlighted_text_font_size=”35px” highlighted_text_line_height=”1.4em” sufix_text_font=”|300|||||||” sufix_text_line_height=”1.3em” hover_enabled=”0″ prefix_text_font_size_tablet=”32px” prefix_text_font_size_phone=”26px” prefix_text_font_size_last_edited=”on|phone” highlighted_text_font_size_tablet=”32px” highlighted_text_font_size_phone=”26px” highlighted_text_font_size_last_edited=”on|phone” sufix_text_font_size_tablet=”” sufix_text_font_size_phone=”20px” sufix_text_font_size_last_edited=”on|phone” global_colors_info=”{}” sticky_enabled=”0″][/dipi_text_highlighter]
Bishop Ronnie Elijah Brailsford, Sr.

Bishop Ronnie E. Brailsford, Sr.

Commission Chair (2021-2024)

A native of South Carolina, he was born and raised in Clarendon County. He was elected and consecrated the 136th Bishop of the African Methodist Episcopal Church during the 50th Quadrennial General Conference held in Philadelphia, PA, July 5th – 13th, 2016. With this honor, he is the Presiding Prelate of the 19th Episcopal District of the A.M.E. Church in South Africa which is comprised of 226 churches and over 54,000 members. He was assigned in July 2021.

Prior, he served the 20th Episcopal District of the A.M.E. Church with 223 churches and over 23,000 members in the African countries of Malawi, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Uganda, and Mozambique. During a five year tenure, 28 churches and over 5,000 new members were added, culminating in an overall membership increase of 28% growth. Among many accomplishments, 9 churches were built, 12 new churches were planted and 16 churches joined the AMEC.

Bishop and Supervisor Brailsford visited 186 of 223 churches and 26 of 35 AMEC schools, even in rural and remote areas, where safe to travel. Funds were raised to help provide school supplies for over 20,000 students and the staff. They provided funds and food for disaster relief for over 2,500 families. Medical mission trips served over 11,000 people with medical, dental, eye and dermatology services. They partnered to provide scholarships and school fees for 100 plus students. In addition, the United Methodist Church and Africa University partnership was started August 2020 and provides $700,000 of four year full scholarships for 32 students.

Having graduated in 1976 as Valedictorian from Scott’s Branch High School of Summerton, SC, he went on to graduate from the University of South Carolina, with a Bachelor of Science degree in Marketing. His Master of Divinity degree was earned at the Interdenominational Theological Center (ITC) in Atlanta, GA. where he was a Benjamin E. Mays Fellow and a John Middleton Scholar. An honorary Doctor of Divinity degree was bestowed upon him by A.M.E. University of Monrovia, Liberia. He did Studies in the Doctor of Ministry program at I.T.C. and earned his Doctor of Ministry degree in 2007 from United Theological Seminary. He has received many academic, professional and community honors.

He was licensed to preach on January 20, 1980 at his home church, Historic Liberty Hill A.M.E. Church in Summerton, SC. He served at Big Bethel AMEC in Atlanta, GA. Later, he pastored at Mt. Carmel AMEC, Gray Court, SC and Amanda Flipper AMEC, Decatur, Georgia.

His twenty-four years, from 1992-2016, at Bethel A.M.E. Church, Columbia, SC were highlighted by exceptional spiritual, numerical, and financial growth. In 1995 Bethel relocated from its landlocked Sumter Street site to 819 Woodrow Street, a $5,000,000 campus with five connected buildings, 86,000 square feet, on 5 acres of land. The 1.5 city blocks offer 366 parking spaces and modern accommodations, including 120 classrooms and offices, a Christian Life Center and Gymnasium. A new school, Bethel Learning Centers, was founded, and accredited since 1995, educating thousands. A $3,000,000 new school building was completed in 2008.

In 1983, he married Carolyn Elizabeth Irvin. She is an Itinerant Elder. They have three children: Veronica-Carol, Ronnie, Jr. and David; a daughter-in love, Erica; and five grands, Harper, Kyndal, Gracen, Dawson and Roman. He is a very devoted husband, father, bishop, and community leader.

Commission Members (2021-2024)

  • IRev. Jocelyn K. Hart Lovelace - Vice Chair
  • IDr. Edna Watson
  • IRev. Dr. Alphonse Allen
  • IRev. Joelynn Stokes, Esq.
  • IRev. Sheriolyn Curry
  • IMrs. Rosemary Street-Nixon
  • IMs. Patricia Parker
  • IMs. Courtney Gordon
  • IRev. Dr. Agnes Lover
  • IRev. Dr. John McCormick
  • IRev. Dr. Willie N. Barnes Jr (YA)
  • IRev. Marcellus Fields
  • IRev. Walter Reid Jr
  • IRev. Johnson O. Paye
  • IRev. Heinrich Arnoldus (YA)
  • IMrs. Shirlane Hedrickson
  • IRev. Margaret Nkana Mwanza
  • IRev. Thato Mogami
  • IRev. Motseko Potse
  • IRev. Eustice Bekithemba Ginya


In recognition of Clergy Appreciation Month, the Department of Christian Education and the Commission on Ministry and Recruitment offer two webinars exploring themes particularly relevant to clergy health and wellbeing.
Rev. Dr. Alexia Ellis


Rev. Dr. Alexia Ellis
Dr. Sabrina Wannamaker


Dr. Sabrina Wannamaker
Translate »